(Part 1) A Layman's Guide to Ayurveda: Unlocking the Ancient Secrets of Natural Health

(Part 1) A Layman's Guide to Ayurveda: Unlocking the Ancient Secrets of Natural Health

This article describes about origin & definition of Ayurveda, Objectives of Ayurveda, Branches of Ayurveda, Prakrtuti of Body, Tridosha, Daily & Seasonal Regimen.

Ayurveda: Science and art of living

The word Ayurveda is made up of two basic terms 'Ayu' & 'Veda'. 'Ayu' means life and 'Veda' means knowledge or science; thus, the word Ayurveda stands for the science of life. Ayurveda is the science and art of living. Ayurveda is an ancient system of medicine that originated in India.


Objective of Ayurveda:

Two main objectives are as follows:

1) to maintain & promote the positive health of healthy individuals.

2) to cure the disease of diseased persons.


Branches of Ayurveda:

Eight branches of Ayurveda with their specialties are as follows:

1) Kaya Chikitsa (Internal Medicine)

2) Shalya Tantra (Surgery)

3) Shalakya Tantra (Ophthalmology, ENT)

4) Kaumara Bhritya (Paediatrics)

5) Agada Tantra (Toxicology)

6) Ghruha or Bhuta Vidya (Psychiatry)

7) Rasayan (Science of rejuvenation & anti-ageing)

8) Vajikarana (Science of Fertility & Aphrodisiac).


Dosha (The Biological Humors) Dosha means "that which vitiates", dosha are named so because they have a tendency to be vitiate & manifest diseases.



1) Vata

2) Pitta

3) Kapha


Functions of Tridosha:

A) Vata Dosha is responsible for following important functions:

1) responsible for all movements of the body, at structural level as well as cellular level.

2) stimulates all the sensory & motor centers & is responsible for the sharpness of sense of perceptions.

3) controls respiratory process.


B) Pitta Dosha is responsible for following important functions:

1) digestion, metabolism and transformation.

2) maintains colour, complexion & luster of the skin

3) improves the mental activities like understanding, bravery and intelligence.


C) Kapha Dosha is responsible for following important functions:

1) responsible for strength, stability and firmness of the body.

2) maintenance body fluid.

3) Fertility and Immunity.


Prakriti: the basic trait.

The word prakriti means 'nature', therefore it reflects the natural state of the human beings at anatomical, physiological & psychological level.

Importance of Prikriti:

The initial diagnosis of an Ayurveda Physician lies in determining the prakriti of an individual. According to Ayurveda prakriti reveals almost everything about a particular individual.


Dincharya & Rutu Charya

(Daily & Seasonal Regimen)


A) Rutu Charya (seasonal regimen)

It's a regimen for balancing the internal environment of the body & diet, lifestyle planning so as to minimize the adverse effects of external environment on the body.

B) Dina Charya (daily regimen)

The dina charya is the daily regimen advised by Ayurveda for healthy body and mind. It includes all aspects starting from when to wake up, elimination, brushing the teeth, tongue cleaning, massage, exercise, bathing, worshipping, dressing up, diet, drinking water, means to earn livelihood, social etiquettes, fragrances, deodorants, mouth fresheners, makeup, lunch and dinner etiquettes, getting to bed etc.


Dr Sudhindra Kulkarni
Chief Ayurveda Consultant | Ayur Jaala, BTM layout
Ph: 9148403168 | www.ayurjaala.com
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.